Seymour Arms, Blagdon

5 Responses to “Seymour Arms, Blagdon”


  1. 1 Valerie Brown February 4, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Hi Andrew,
    My Grandparents Gilbert & Florence Day used to run the Seymour Arms and the Queen Adelaide. My Mum was Mary Green and she married Arthur Day. I am sure my Mum knew your Mum. We left Blagdon in 1951 when I was 3, I have a brother Stephen.
    My Dad used to play billiards for Blagdon, I still have several silver cups he won, and he also played cricket for Blagdon and was a supporter of the Club until he passed away.
    Val

  2. 2 Sheila Johnson February 8, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    There’s another photo in the archive (possibly not loaded yet) of the Queen Adelaide with the name ‘G.T. Day’ over the door & some people outside – I wonder if this is your family?

    Do you have any other photos of Blagdon?
    (Blagdon Local History Society)

    • 3 Valerie Brown February 9, 2010 at 11:34 am

      Yes I have that photo hanging in my hallway, my Grandads name was Gilbert Thomas Day. I also have a very old one of the Seymour Arms, and I am not sure but maybe some of the cricket team. i was born in the house that is now called Chenfray I think, its between the Adelaide and the Seymour on the right hand side. It was called Frenchay when we lived there. I would love to contact anyone who knew my Mum or Dad. Mary Green and Arthur Day, but I suppose its going back a long way now.

  3. 4 Brian March 22, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Just putting together some archive material of my own. My Great Aunt Eva Ormerod and her husbang Harold Sweeting owned (or ran) the Seymour Arms in the 1930’s and at least into the war years. My Dad, as a young boy spent many holiday breaks there, down from London. Have no other details for now. I was looking, which is how I found your site.

  4. 5 cynthia palmer June 27, 2012 at 11:27 am

    I used to live in Red Gables, ? next to Frenchay when Bernie Shipsey lived there. I think my Gteat Uncle Charley Cox used to run the Seymour Arms many years ago. I have photos of Blagdon including the carol singers in Dickensian costume, we toured the village and also visited Nordrach when it was still a TB sanatoriem. I remeber Charley Andrews, he used to ring the Church bells. Also remeber Andrew as a school boy and my memories of his mum feeding a baby jackdaw. Cynthia


Leave a Reply

Photo categories

Cookies and Privacy

This site uses cookies when you post comments.
If you don't want this to happen please use the contact form and mention the photo title with your comment.
If you'd like to know more please see our privacy policy and information on how cookies are used.

Things to think about

• Is the image the right way round?
• Is it duplicated in the archive?
• When was the image taken?
• Why was it taken?
• Who took it?
• Where is it?
• What does it show?
• Can you identify the people in it?
• Any observations about the image
• Anecdotes inspired by the images

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 81 other followers

All the Blagdon websites
A www.blagdon.org project